Booklook Review: Play With Fire

240_360_book-1993-coverI’m totally a stalker. 😉 I heard of Bianca Olthoff’s work with A21 Campaign through her sister Jasmine Star. Jasmine is an incredibly gifted photographer whose work I have been stalking for close to a decade now. When I heard that Bianca was writing this book I did a little research to see if it looked like something I would want to read, and if it was a topic that my own readers would be interested in perusing. “Discovering fierce faith, unquenchable passion, and a life-giving God”, the book’s tagline, lit a spark in my gut as a read it. This very real, tangible faith and subsequent action is the kind of Christian life I seek to live, so here’s my take on “Play With Fire” by Bianca Juarez Olthoff.

Olthoff’s main message in Play With Fire is the truth that God doesn’t want you to wait until the perfect timing, scenario, until you are married, have the ideal job, until your skills are more developed, once you have more experience, or any other factor so that He can use you. He wants to use your life right now. Bianca writes a lot about fire, paralleling the mythical creature, the Phoenix, with her own experience of God’s work. She shares a lot of personal narrative, taking readers to the difficult moments and seasons, through the fire of tragedy and trial, and to the other side where she began to experience the redemption and clarity that can only be seen in the dying embers of life’s struggles.

Some hopeful themes BIanca Olthoff shares in this book are:

  • God’s ability to take the worst situations and turn them around for our good and His glory
  • The way out of the dark and discouraging “middle” of the fire is to keep moving forward.
  • God’s unique calling and purpose on each of our lives, which involves the promise of transformation
  • The incredibly personal and powerful nature of the Holy Spirit at work in each of our lives.

I personally enjoyed this read, and found it uplifting and positive. Bianca did a thorough job of weaving Scripture through her writing, connecting elements of truth to her own experience and the promises found in God’s Word. Her writing style felt very personal and intimate, like I was sitting across from her over a cup of tea listening to her share her story. Reading the book Play With Fire helped me regain a passion for my work and ministry, and lit a spark in my gut to pursue the work of transformation in my own life as well as helping others who are walking through that fire!

Play With Fire is a great book for women who want to be used by God, and who believe that they are made for more. If you are trying to figure out if or how God wants to use you, I highly recommend you pick up this book and read with an open heart.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com®<http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

For more recipes, nutrition tips and spiritual support join me here. If you need help with your physical or spiritual health and would like some accountability, reach out to me-I help people each month as they improve their health!

What do you think?

