Booklook Review: Uninvited

 

240_360_book-1988-coverKeeping all things real and transparent, I had a friend recommend this book to me before I selected it for review. She was still reading it, but spoke positively about what she had read, so that was all I needed to come grab Uninvited by Lysa TerKeurst.

Rejected. Lonely. Worthless. Less than. Empty. These are all feelings that our enemy Satan desperately wants us to feel. And, I would venture to say that every one of us has felt in the past week. Maybe even the past hour if we are being honest. This is our reality-we are allowing the enemy to scream lies in our ear, programming us for rejection and stealing our purpose in life. We are left crippled, without courage, and with no vision. We are blinded to the power of Christ’s love in our hearts.

In Univited, Lysa dives into sharing about her incredibly personal experiences particularly with rejection. From family members to friends to the stranger at the gym. However, she does not stop with personal narrative, but shared biblical truth and practical how-to’s in handling the feelings brought to the surface when one faces rejection, shame, and the insecurity and vulnerability that plagues us all. She sheds light on the two fears that fuel our insecurities and reveals how a reader can end the cycle of perceived rejection, and shows the way to pray for ten days in order to bring a sense of stability and restore confidence in the midst of insecurity.

As a Biblical Counselor, I was very pleased with this book. Often these reads are full of experience and light scriptural platitudes leaving the reader feeling better in the moment, taking Scripture out of context, and not having any true solutions for what they are facing. Lysa TerKeurst took things to a new place of vulnerability tied to biblical truth applied. That is exactly where transformation happens, and that’s where I want to live. I feel confident to recommend this to any of my clients, friends, and community as a solid and biblically-based resource on the topic!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com®<http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

For more recipes, nutrition tips and spiritual support join me here. If you need help with your physical or spiritual health and would like some accountability, reach out to me-I help people each month as they improve their health!

What do you think?

