Booklook Review: Unashamed by Christine Caine

240_360_book-1940-cover

Shame can be paralyzing. We each have our triggers, and actions that happen in life or relationships, even the slightest of cues in a conversation that spark something inside of us that makes us want to run and hide. It drives us to hide, to run away, to retreat into our corners and closets and miss out on the opportunity to impact the world in the exact way God has designed, gifted, and skilled us to do so. Okay, soapbox away now. I really just wanted to see if this book would be helpful for me as I have begun to recognize my own struggle with shame.

Unashamed by Christine Caine

Christine Caine has written her new book, Unashamed, sharing her own experience being groomed and shaped by shame, and how she is moving to living a shame-free life. She tells her own story and many others from all walks of life, each voice so relatable to today’s woman. She challenges the reader to embrace a shame-free life, breaking the chains of shame and leaving behind the old ways Satan seeks to destroy. By learning to deal with the baggage and history of your past, you can embrace the fullness of your future and life with God.

I found this book incredibly interesting because as I mentioned above, I am digging through my own past, shaping, and upbringing in all aspects. Christine Caine’s direct and passionate approach helped me to clearly face some of the issues I was dealing with, and confront them with the truth of who I am in the Lord. She challenged me to think about shame from a Biblical place, recognizing my broken parts but not staying there. She wrote in a way that made me want to keep reading-it was very engaging, encouraging, and motivating. I found her message to be aligned with Scripture and Biblical truth principles. I would recommend this book to others, particularly women who may be struggling with feelings of shame, insecurity, worthlessness, defeat, and depression. I think that this book and its message would be excellent for group discussion or a book club!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com®<http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

For more recipes, nutrition tips and spiritual support join me here. If you need help with your physical or spiritual health and would like some accountability, reach out to me-I help people each month as they improve their health!

What do you think?

