Walk by the Spirit

Every day for the past few months I have been challenged by my fears. Fear of failure, fear or losing or screwing up my kids, fear of not taking action at the right time and missing the opportunities God has for me! Fear that I had already done so much to screw up my life and relationships that it was beyond repair or hope of being fixed or finding success. I felt like Satan had a choke-hold on me.

Then I went to First Steps to Success in DC at the end of April. Since then, I have been digging into truth, plugging into training, and Every moment of the day I have been more and more aware of the fears I have, and have been choosing to follow the Biblical process of change to cast them off and lean into walking by the Spirit.

It’s no coincidence that this was my scripture passage to start the week:

Galatians 5:16-17 states, “But I say, walk by the Spirit, and you will not carry out the desire of the flesh. For the flesh sets its desire against the Spirit, and the Spirit against the flesh; for these are in opposition to one another, so that you may not do the things that you please.”

As I studied this passage it struck me that to walk by the Spirit is quite an “active” thing to be doing. Just like going for a walk or running a race, it doesn’t just happen. You have to get dressed, put your shoes on, and actually step out of the door! Our fears WILL win if we don’t operate in faith.

walk by the spirit.jpg

Fear is so capable of gripping us and keeping us where we don’t want to be. Here’s another passage that reminds me daily of how I should be thinking,

2 Timothy 2:17, “For God has not given us a spirit of timidity, but of power and love and discipline.”

Forget all the fear, and just trust as you take baby steps forward!

 For more recipes, nutrition tips and spiritual support join me here. If you need help with your physical or spiritual health and would like some accountability, reach out to me-I help people each month as they improve their health!

What do you think?

