Getting Real With Postpartum Weightloss

You can get your body back after baby!

6 Weeks to Abs Again!

Crunch away the baby belly!

Y’all. can we just get real for a minute here?

I know first-hand that as a mom you want to feel like you again. You want to fit back in your jeans, and your hips have spread so far they feel like they are in two different zip codes. So there with you, friend!

As I have been walking this postpartum journey again with our second, #BabyChallenger, it’s been a whole new level of learning to appreciate my body as God made it and trusting in the process of solid nutrition + fitness + support to get me to my end goal of being healthy (AND fitting in my jeans again).

 

2014-08-07 02.51.06-1
2.5 years after first pregnancy, 15lbs less than pre-pregnancy weight!

After our first, I had no idea what I was doing with my health and nutrition, and she was nearly 2 when I found a simple system that worked for me. At-home workouts, basics of nutrition and portion-eating, real food supplements that helped curb my sugar cravings throughout the process, and support from a community of people who were like-minded. I stayed consistent throughout the pregnancy with #BabyChallenger and the payoff was incredible.

-less weight gain

-less complications in pregnancy

-shorter labor (some aspects even easier)

-easier recovery

-stronger adjusting to newborn phase (carrying/holding baby, etc)

 

6 wks postpartum

6 Weeks Postpartum* after Second Baby #BabyChallenger 

*and you should know-I was standing with the best posture and core control I could muster here. As much as I had stayed active and worked to train my core throughout my pregnancy, the female body naturally adapts to take care of baby, which means your core goes through MAJOR changes.

8b7b2f2083aff589bd468eee8e20b0f1So, now I find myself with our baby nearing 10 Months old, and I was just sharing with a friend yesterday how I’m still a solid 15 lbs heavier than I was pre-baby. I calculated again this morning…make that closer to 20. However, I remind myself every day that I’m still breastfeeding, and the body’s natural response and hormones *tell your body to hang onto fat*! This is actually a good thing, because in case there is war or famine, you need to be able to feed your baby. Isn’t God’s design incredible?! Now, maybe there are other mommas who can breastfeed and get six-pack abs at the same time, but you shouldn’t feel “less than” if you aren’t in that boat. 🙂

So, while I still have a tummy, hips, some jiggle in my thighs, and I’m far from having a 6-pack, I am strong. I am healthy. I am learning to live my life in the image of the One who created me, and be an example of health to my family. I am feeding my baby and taking care of me at the same time. That’s a WIN!

For more recipes, nutrition tips and spiritual support join me here. If you need help with your physical or spiritual health and would like some accountability, reach out to me-I help people each month as they improve their health!

What do you think?

