Who[se] Are You?

How do you know who you are? Is it where you are from? What you like to do? Is it your Myers-Brigg’s profile? Is it your personality type combined with your spiritual gifts?

I think about these things all the time, and while I love learning about all of those, if I have to boil it down to one thing, it’s much deeper and yet more simple. Hang with me while I get there. šŸ˜‰

We enjoyed a completely lazy afternoon and evening as a family yesterday, and it was GLORIOUS! During this season (aka-the last 3 years since Mason has been working in retail) Mason works every single Sunday except Easter. So, having an afternoon to relax and rest together is craved and welcomed. So much so that once we had dinner and did our Easter Egg hunt, I immediately went to the couch to put my feet up and enjoy the afternoon. When I turned the tv on to see what we could find on Netflix or Amazon Prime, the cable box was on the Disney Channel showing a Toy Story marathon. Maddy immediately asked if we could watch it, and since she had never seen it before, we indulged. I have to be honest, I slept through most of Toy Story. However, I was awake in time for the following scene fromĀ Toy Story 2!

From Toy Story 2

“It’s not in Molly’s room. We’ve looked everywhere.”

ā€”Bo Peep, while searching for Woody’s hat

Woody: “Oh, great. That’s just great. This will be the first year I’ll miss Cowboy Camp all because of my stupid hat!”
Bo Peep: “Woody, look under your boot.”
Woody: “Don’t be silly. My hat is not under my boot.”
Bo Peep: “Will you just look?”
Woody: “See? No hat! Just the word’Andy’.”
andy boot.jpgBo Peep: “Uh-huh, and the boy who wrote that will take you to camp with or without your hat.”

IĀ instantly looked at Mason, saying, “Your identity isn’t in a hat that you wear or even what you do, it’s in ‘whose’ you are! There’s such good truth there!”

Psalm 8:4-6 alludes to the value God has given us,

“What is man that You take thought of him,
And the son of man that You care for him?

Yet You have made him a little lower than God,
And You crown him with glory and majesty!

You make him to rule over the works of Your hands;
You have put all things under his feet,

Bottom line? Your true identity isn’t in who you are, it lies in “whose” you are!identity in whose you are.jpg

For more recipes, nutrition tips and spiritual support join meĀ here. If you need help with nutrition and would like some accountability, reach out to me-I help people each month as they improve their health!

2 thoughts on “Who[se] Are You?

  1. Pingback: Who[se] Are You? | Conquer the Norm

What do you think?

