How To Crush Cravings This Winter-Part 2

The hours of sunshine in our days is increasing, but we are still in the final stretches of this winter, so I wanted to share some tips I have found for crushing your cravings this particularly difficult time of year. And I know we are about at the point that you will have anxiety over swimsuit season. So, take this tip and put it into practice right away! If you missed the first post in this series, you can go back to read it here.

My second tip for you to help fight your winter cravings (and keep that layer of fluff from hibernation at bay) is to focus your eating on complex carbs paired with a healthy source of fat. When you eat healthier carbs, this has a beneficial effect on the serotonin in your brain. Woohoo! A happy brain is a good thing! 🙂

Winter Health Tips.jpg

If you aren’t sure what complex carbs are, here are some examples of whole grains (and some fats you could pair):

  • oatmeal with flax seed, nuts, or nut butter
  • english muffin with nut butter
  • quinoa, couscous, or brown rice
  • popcorn and coconut oil (I also recommend red palm oil for a butter-like taste)

I found myself trying out this recipe from Gabby’s Gluten Free for Cinnamon Quinoa Breakfast Bake. I LOVED it, and I do NOT love hot breakfast cereals. I actually enjoyed it so much, I will probably make it again and eat it all myself, because it was just a bit too “earthy” for Mason. However, paired with a bit of peanut butter and a drizzle of maple syrup, I found it just right, satisfying, and a nice “hot” pairing with my morning green smoothie. Give it a try!

If you would like to see more recipes, health tips and spiritual encouragement, join me here!

What do you think?

