When You Are Weary But Needed

The past month has left me so weary. I would say tired, but that just doesn’t quite cut it. I can’t recall what went on for entire days due to my exhaustion and mental fog.

Here’s the thing though: when you are “mom”, you don’t get to clock-out. There is no passing on answering the midnight cries of your infant. There is no denying your preschooler snuggles when they need some loving reassurance.
You just press through.
Until you can’t.

I hit that point this month. The point where I couldn’t do it and I had to let everything I juggle hit the ground. I couldn’t go on, and I couldn’t even think about what I needed help with. It’s scary to think about hitting that point, because who is there to pick things up? Life doesn’t just stop when you hit these moments. In fact, it seems like times such as this occur in the heat of the battle.
At least, it did for us. And this time, I’m thankful for a friend whose support reminded me of the way Aaron and Hur held up Moses’ arms while the Israelites fought. (Read the full story in Exodus 17).

“Moses’ arms soon became so tired he could no longer hold them up. So Aaron and Hur found a stone for him to sit on. Then they stood on each side of Moses, holding up his hands. So his hands held steady until sunset.”

‭‭Exodus‬ ‭17:12‬ ‭NLT‬‬
http://bible.com/116/exo.17.12.nlt

It was the week before Morgan was admitted to INOVA Fairfax Pediatric ICU. She was miserable and so tired from not sleeping well for a week or more. We didn’t know what was wrong and couldn’t figure out how to relieve her symptoms. Jenn and I were texting back as forth and I shared how my new year was awful so far and how much I was struggling with it all. Barely had I sent my reply when she offered to drive down to help. I tried to dismiss her offer, but when my husband (who struggles even more than I do to accept help) said, “we need to learn to receive help.” I immediately text Jenn back and she was soon on her way.

Open Hands Humble HEart Receive.jpg

We all have times when we desperately need help. I have been learning how to receive that help and how to allow others to relieve me of the burden I cannot bear alone. This requires my humility and open hands. Open your hands to help.

Open your hands to help.

Open your heart to being ministered to in your weakest moments! You have no idea the kind of blessing God desires to pour out on your life!

What do you think?

