Booklook Review: Hands Free Life by Rachel Macy Stafford

I had a slight chip on my shoulder toward this book when I first chose it, because I thought it was basically going to tell me that I needed to cut all screens from my life. I’m pretty dependent on screens, and I know that. However, it’s also just how I function-my grocery list, meal plan, recipes, and business are all run from my computer and/or my phone. I caved to reading this because my She Works His Way community was discussing it as the Book of the Month. And you know I can’t turn down a good book discussion. 🙂 <–if you want to jump in on an Advent Devotional, get the details here!

Back to the book. 🙂 Rachel Macy Stafford has compiled 9 key habits that are supposed to help you in overcoming distractions, living better, and loving more. This is truly about learning self-discipline, realizing that you may be distracted from your highest priorities (the very reason you are likely doing what you are doing), and releasing perfection! Rachel challenges readers to begin showing up for life, living life fully and with courage, and embrace healing in life.

Here are the habits Rachel outlines:

  1. Fill the Spaces
  2. Surrender Control
  3. Build a Foundation
  4. Take the Pressure Off
  5. See What is Good
  6. Give What Matters
  7. Establish Boundaries
  8. Leave a Legacy
  9. Change Someone’s Story

One of my favorite quotes was, “Because each time I let go of perfect and allow myself to show up as is, the bruises on my spirit fade a little more.” I was challenged, not to put my phone down, but to practice the art of presence, engaging fully with God each day, connecting with my family, and releasing perfection so that I can actually give the gift of myself in the way God wants to use my life to reach a hurting and dying world. This life is too short and eternity is way too long for me to hold onto everything being perfect!

If you are a parent, this is for you. If you are living in this tech-saturated, DISTRACTED world, this is for you. If you have ever hit the pillow at night and wondered if what you were working so hard at was of any significance, this read is for you. If you desire to see your life used to truly impact and change others’ lives, THIS BOOK IS FOR YOU! Go get it.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

What do you think?

