Booklook Review: Brave Queen Esther

Growing up, I read the stories from the Bible quite a bit. Or, had them read to me. Such is the life of a ministry child. 🙂 I also had my own “Adventure Bible“, and I always loved hearing about the women in the Scriptures, because each seemed to have a really unique struggle and story of how she overcame it. We snagged this book to review because we didn’t yet have the Esther Bible story in an easy-read book for Maddy.

Brave Queen Esther includes the story of Esther, a Jewish girl who is made queen. She is known for her bravery and beauty, and for her heroism on behalf of her people. The King chooses her to be his Queen, and then when the King’s right-hand man plots to wipe out all of the Jews in the kingdom, Esther has an opportunity to face fear and the danger to save her people from evil. This telling of Queen Esther’s story is written in the I Can Read level two standards. This means that there is age-appropriate vocabulary and ideas for young developing readers. The I Can Read Level Two is geared for those who are “Reading with help” and has “engaging stories, longer sentences, and language play for developing readers.”

I found the telling of Esther’s experience aligned with Scripture, and at an appropriate level for a young reader to understand the deeper concepts of what was happening at the time. There is solid vocabulary included, and the illustrations are also bright and engaging! There is also a pretty cool “People of the Bible” and “Did You Know?” section that provide more history and biographical details for older readers who are ready to grasp the surrounding pieces of the story. While this book may be designed at a level for older readers, I found that Maddy (now three years old) was engaged with the story and pictures, and enjoyed the roughly 30-page book.

I would recommend Brave Queen Esther to other parents or even teachers who are looking for a solid reader. I would particularly encourage those who are seeking Bible stories or Scripture-based readers to consider investing in this one or the others in the series of Zonderkidz “I Can Read” books!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

What do you think?

