Booklook Review: The Leadership Handbook by John C. Maxwell

This title of course stood out to me as my husband has such a passion for leadership, and has quite the library on leadership and organizational development. I immediately asked him if he owned this book! Since he didn’t, I had to grab it to read, but I am also a natural leader and desire to learn and grow to develop myself personally in this area. Can I just say, we made a great choice with this one? 🙂

The Leadership Handbook is a great resource for new or young leaders who need to learn the ropes of leading others, guiding other’s personal development, or empowering your team. Included are 26 of John C. Maxwell’s lessons in leadership, broken down for anyone to be able to pick up the book and learn as they go. Of particular value to leaders are the “Application Exercises” included with the lessons. These included practical questions to be answered, plans to be made, and tips that are easy to implement into your routine.

I found this book very interesting, especially as I am learning to lead better daily! Each lesson included stories that helped me connect on a personal level to the topic. I found the “Application Exercises” challenging, but also bite-sized if you took the time to pace yourself through the book and topics. Even doing one per week means you will finish covering this book in 6 months time and have learned to practice these vital leadership lessons! John C. Maxwell has a wonderful approach that is easy to read and engage. His writing style held my attention with stories, quotes, and a voice of experience–you can tell he has lived these lessons! The lessons were easy to follow, and broken down into topics that can be consumed one piece at a time. This book is NOT one that needs to be read straight through; it can be read in any order that is needed.

Ultimately, I believe that our most valuable leadership lessons can be tied back to Biblical truth, and as I read this I felt that Maxwell did a thorough job of tying the lessons he taught back to the truths found in Scripture. I would highly recommend this book to any leader who desires to grow and learn as they lead. The truths included are packaged in such a way that anyone can learn from begin improving their leadership skills immediately!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

What do you think?

