Booklook Review: From This Day Forward by Craig & Amy Groeschel

It was just last month that Mason told me he was doing a particular devotional called “From This Day Forward”. Hmmm…I think that’s a book! Sure enough it was, so I snagged “From This Day Forward” by Craig & Amy Groeschel for my next review read, and I’m so glad that I did!

Craig & Amy co-wrote “From This Day Forward” to help couples not just have good marriages, but great relationships–the kind we all hope for, but are unsure how to attain. Craig’s humor and Amy’s sincerity keep the writing in this book in a perfect balance that is very easy to read. One could, and people have tried, writing volumes on marriage, but the Groeschel’s breakdown their approach into five main points:

  1. Seek God.
  2. Fight fair.
  3. Have fun.
  4. Stay pure.
  5. Never give up.

Keeping this simple approach, Craig and Amy have written a book that will truly help you discover basic steps to a more fulfilling and purposeful marriage!

As I read this book I felt like I was handed the most easy-to-follow guide to having a strong marriage. I know that I can become overwhelmed in the complex, so much so that I fail to carry out a simple act of love like praying with my husband. I have seen the Groeschel’s approach (focusing on simple steps until they become consistent) work in other areas of my life, so why not our marriages? It only makes sense. I particularly enjoyed the first section about seeking God first. This fundamental approach should be just that-a foundational truth lived out daily in every relationship we have. When that one reality falls into place, everything else begins to align.

I will be recommending this book to my married or engaged family and friends (maybe even some singles as they desire to learn about marriage). I found Craig and Amy to have not only valuable experience, but a balanced and Biblical perspective on life and relationships. Hopefully, you will also consider picking up this title in an effort to take your marriage to the next level!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

What do you think?

