Doubting & Faith: A New Perspective

I read this passage first thing this morning:
“I remember the days of long ago; I meditate on all Your works and consider what Your hands have done.
I spread out my hands to You; I thirst for You like a parched land.
Answer me quickly, LORD; my spirit fails.
Do not hide Your face from me or I will be like those who go down to the pit.
Let the morning bring me word of Your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in You.”
– Psalm 143:5-8

Then I continued to read this devotional about Thomas (you know, the one who had major doubts and struggled to believe Christ had truly risen from the grave). For the first time as I read that, I saw another side to my Savior. I saw God as kind, compassionate, and caring when I am overwhelmed with questions. God isn’t upset with me when I doubt! For goodness sake, He knows when I will struggle and wrestle with the unknown. I think often we picture God as judging or harsh towards us when we aren’t his “perfect” children. However, I know that when my daughter doubts or questions, I do everything I can to reassure her and build that trust with her.

What a refreshing perspective in John 20 as Jesus welcomes Thomas to overcome his doubt by experiencing the truth before him!

What do you think?

