Clarity

The last few days I have been thinking towards goals for the coming year, particularly regarding business: mission, vision and more. My vision felt muddied and of course I have put added pressure on myself to “have it together” and neatly planned for January 1, 2015! That’s just not how it always works, and I have to be okay with that.

I am also reading through Restless by Jennie Allen, and the two pages I was able to digest before crashing into my pillow last night gave me so much clarity. Here’s what stood out to me:

“Tim Keller defines meaningful work as taking the raw materials we are given and assembling them in a way that causes other people to flourish.”

“Personal fulfillment is fullest when we are involved in something bigger than ourselves, something for the good of others.”

“What if we took the pieces of our lives (no matter what the world says they are worth) and began to use them to help others flourish for the sake of Christ?” All of a sudden our motives would narrow to contain more of God and others, and less of us.”

THAT is what I want. I want my days, my life to make the biggest impact possible for God. I don’t know how many days that will be, but I know that I have something to offer, and if I can help others thrive, I’m all about it.

Mason and I have had some great ideas over the last few months, and Satan has been throwing doubt and insecurities in my face as I think about implementing anything. The reality is, the pieces of my life are sopping in God’s grace. At times I think that the world doesn’t want any part of that, so why even try to get it out there? Here’s the TRUTH though, God has designed each and every human being to desire HIM! So, if I put the pieces of my life out there for Him to use, then those pieces that may be offensive to “the world” still have the chance of helping someone else flourish.

Time to lay it all on the line and see what God does.

What do you think?

