All in Attitude

It was one of those mornings where I could tell that I would set the tone. My attitude and flesh rose up in my chest, and if I didn’t do something about it, our entire family would soon have a rough start to the day. Thankfully I leaned into the Spirit, and instead of diving into the morning and making a mess of everything, I grabbed a glass of water and my journal and began writing.

Well, less writing and more griping…at God. I like to call it, communicating my frustrations so that I feel heard by my Lord. 🙂 He cares how I feel, right? Well, I figure there is no one better for me to complain to, because He will ALWAYS respond to me with truth and in love. And, He doesn’t like me to wallow in pity parties, so what better way to acknowledge where my heart is and take steps to change my perspective.

So I wrote…

and wrote…

and wrote.

As I neared the end of the first page, I felt my burden lifting. The simple act of writing down what weighed on my heart was enough to transfer it to the Lord’s hands. My attitude adjustment was also coming, because I was about to read in Philippians. Sure enough, I opened my Bible and began digging into the first few verse. There was so much I couldn’t read very far.

As I read Philippians 4: 1-7, this is what the Lord emphasized to me:

stand firm [in the Lord]

live in harmony [in the Lord]

REJOICE in the Lord always…again…REJOICE!

Let your gentle spirit be known to all men

(because the Lord is near)

Be anxious for nothing,

but in everything by prayer and supplication

with thanksgiving

let your requests be made known to God.

… (THEN…after all of that)…

the peace of God…will guard your hearts & your minds in Christ Jesus!

When the peace of God is guarding your heart and mind, your attitude will follow and not only does this certainly set your outlook in the right direction, but each and every choice is then affected. Wow-I love how God’s truth transforms our every thought, action, and word!

What do you think?

