Booklook Review: Lean On Me by Anne Marie Miller

I have been eyeing this book for months, and had really built up some high expectations when it arrived. First of all, let me tell you what Lean On Me is NOT:

-a how-to book

-a step by step guide to relationships

-a Biblical exposition on God’s approach to community

Instead, Anne Marie Miller shares her story, her own life experience full of reality, guts and darkness, with God’s redemptive thread woven through each moment What is outlined within the pages are the principles or checkpoints of what it looks like to find “Intentional, Vulnerable, and Consistent Community.” Anne calls us to focus on the tension between belonging and leaning on others for support while equally pursuing independence.

God allowed for me to read this book (I believe) in the exact time frame when I was not only ready to read it, but needed it most. I was challenged to evaluate my own relationships. Anne Marie Miller inspired me as she shared the reality of the road she walked and how courageously she kept moving forward, seeking to rebuild and establish healthy community again. The stories and truth within these pages were captivating for me-I didn’t want to put the book down! Each chapter flowed into the next, with principles of healthy community revealing themselves along the way. Everything just made sense as Anne Marie speaks from a BIblical perspective, but applies her own unique insight to the way Jesus calls us to “truth-speaking relationships.”

I have already been posting about and sharing quotes from this book for the last 2 weeks, but I’ll say it again and again: I HIGHLY recommend this read to anyone who wants to just have quality relationships in their life. After reading this book, I truly do have an altered perspective on the relationships God has blessed me with. The people in my life are a gift, and I want to love and serve them well. In order to do that, I have to heal from the hurts and brokenness of my past relationships. I hope that you will step out in faith towards becoming the person He made you to be, and having the relationships that He designed you to have!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

What do you think?

