Booklook Review: Love Letters from God by Glenys Nellist, Illustrated by Sophie Allsopp

We have been so blessed to experience a few new children’s books this summer via Booklook Bloggers Review program. Little Girl is always so excited to open packages, and finding a colorful new book inside just lights her up!

Our growing library has several Bible Story books already, but this title looked a little different, so I was eager to get it and review, so here’s my take!

Glenys Nellist has authored this new book, Love Letters from God-Bible Stories. This engaging book not only tells key Bible stories, but included with each account is a “letter from God” which can be personalized for your child. These letters are encouraging and connected to the truths in the Scripture stories. Nellist wrote this book with children ages 4-8 in mind and covers eighteen Bible stories: half from the Old Testament and half from the New Testament. A correlating Bible verse is also present. Lastly, the book closes with a special invitation and letter for children to write their RSVP response to God.

My initial reaction to this book was how incredible the illustrations are! Sophie Allsopp has done a phenomenal job with detailed, colorful pictures to really tell the narratives as Nellist recounted them. I could rave for days on the beautiful work here-I would purchase this book just for the illustrations!

As far as the Scriptural accounts and re-telling of Bible Stories, I am fairly opinionated and nit-picky. There were several points in Glenys Nellist’s writing where I didn’t care for the expansion or storytelling flair she used. With my background and even college degree in Biblical Studies, I hold highly the value of accurate Biblical truth being taught even at a Children’s reading level. I understand someone taking creative liberty, but again, it’s an area I struggle with. I noticed this mostly in areas that were non-issues, but particularly in some of “letters from God”, I will be adapting the wording as I read to reflect what I believe to be more accurate to the Bible. There was one in particular that I felt muddied the steps to salvation, which for me are a closed-handed issue.

I would recommend this book for the illustrations mostly. Like I stated above, I would not *highly* recommend it for Biblical accuracy, but most of the Bible Stories are great and creatively on a child’s level.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

What do you think?

