Recipe: Fresh Guacamole

For years I was missing out on the delicacy of avocados (particularly good, fresh guacamole)! To be perfectly honest, I’m not 100% certain that I could have identified an avocado until I was in college. You know, just one of the many things you aren’t familiar with when you grow up overseas. 😉

Living in TX for a couple years I suddenly saw avocados everywhere, but not knowing what I was doing, I would just grab the basic guacamole seasoning packets and mix it up that way. At the time we were happy with it, but now that I know just how easy it is to make a batch fresh, I will never go back!

Here’s my super simple recipe:

INGREDIENTS

3 medium avocados, pitted and diced

1/2 medium red onion, diced small

2 garlic cloves, crushed

1 handful fresh cilantro, chopped

1/2 lime, juiced

Pinch Salt, just a light sprinkle to bring out the flavors

DIRECTIONS

Gently mix all ingredients in a medium bowl and adjust your seasonings to taste. The key to getting your batch of guacamole the way you like it is to mix to YOUR taste! And of course you can add in chopped tomatoes, jalapenos, etc.

What do you think?

