Booklook Review: My Happy Pumpkin

Maddy has begun inspecting each new package that comes to the house with the excited announcement of, “New book!” She was pretty happy to see that this week it was true!

We chose My Happy Pumpkin: God’s Love Shining through Me, a shaped board book designed for small children. Its unique shape and bright colors are attractive and engaging to the reader. Written in rhyme, Crystal Bowman (author) and Claudine Gevry (illustrator) have created a truly delightful story that’s perfect for fall, but also includes a timeless message of God’s love and how it transforms our lives!

I would say that we have enjoyed this read because Little Girl has consistently asked to read the book, reaching the final page and requesting, “Again!” I have been impressed at how well she likes it. I felt it had a great basic story that introduces the concept of how seeds are planted and grow through different seasons. As well, Crystal Bowman has included the process of carving pumpkins into jack-o-lanterns and connected that to the way God changes our lives.

Overall I found this to be a great book. The only slight negative I have is a wording issue that’s truly minor, but leads to a larger theological issue. The phrase “I’ll try to be good” puts more emphasis on a child’s “doing” vs. simply “being” in the renewed heart and spirit. Again, not that this is a major issue, but these slight wording issues lead to larger “work”-driven religious mentalities. I would still strongly recommend this book and think it brings a fun and non-scary take on one of our fun American fall traditions of carving pumpkins!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

What do you think?

