Make the Jump

 

I converse with so many people who are disappointed with their life status.

This disappointment comes in many forms.

For some, it’s the reality that they are in a job or entire career field that they despise.

For others, they feel like failures because of the  way their kids have turned out.

For still more, they just can’t figure out why their life doesn’t line up with their heart’s desires!

Are you thrilled with where you are in life?

Yes? Great then, keep doing what you’re doing.

No? Then listen up.

It’s time to change something.

It’s time to figure out where you DO want to be and START working towards that end goal!

Here’s the thing. God has given each of us dreams.

BIG DREAMS, y’all!

I’m talking, scare the pants off of you dreams.

Dreams that are WORTH leaving everything else behind to chase.

Dreams that people around you say you are FOOLISH for considering worth your time.

if your dreams dont scare you dream bigger

Let me get personal for a moment; I tend to be overly intense and high-strung, over-analyzing everything and thinking that what I do has to “fit” a certain box. IT DOESN’T!

[THANK YOU, LORD!! Because now that I am SOLD OUT pursuing the Counseling and Coaching career path, my dreams are definitely a little out of the box.]

 

So, think for a minute.

What is your dream?

Who do you want to be?

Who does God want you to be?

(let me take it a step even further)

How has God designed you to glorify HIM?

No, really you may need to go a little bigger than that.

Are you feeling disappointed right now because you are NOT living your dream?

 

You have 2 options:

1. Stay where you are and be miserable (but I don’t want to hear you complaining about it)

2. Take a leap of faith and MOVE in the direction of your dream!

 

 

leap of faith make the jump where you want to be

When I saw the above graphic I thought of this verse.

Romans 5:17

“For I do not understand my own actions.

For I do not do what I want,

but I do the very thing I hate.”

Paul is talking about the struggle of a believer to live out the fruit of his faith. He is literally speaking about having a desire to show love, joy, and patience but not DO-ing those things. I’m not trying to take this verse out of context, but rather draw the parallel. When we turn away from taking the leap of faith towards the very dream God has placed in our hearts, we are choosing fear, hurting those we love, and setting ourselves up for disappointment.

Are you ready to make the jump?

2 thoughts on “Make the Jump

  1. Good stuff! The idea of following your dreams has been popping up all over the place in my life lately. I know there is an element of faith involved, but practically, how does one make that leap? I want to jump but I don’t know what that looks like right now. And I don’t mean I don’t know what the other side looks like. I mean I don’t know how to pick these two feet off the ground to make that leap. I guess to some extent for all of us there are obstacles we need to overcome to even get to that point. A big one for me right now is paying off my debt! I know you can relate to that. 🙂 any advice for making steps toward taking the leap?

    • That’s awesome! It truly takes so much faith and CONSTANT surrender to the Lord as you leap. Absolutely, Tamara! I think one of the best things for me was narrowing my focus and evaluating values, priorities and goals. I would HIGHLY recommend that you check out Chalene Johnson’s 30 Day Push (www.30daypush.com) Walking through that and doing the simple daily tasks has propelled me forward as I organize daily life and work towards living our dreams, reaching forward for goals. It’s SO hard to be pressing forward daily, but I go to bed knowing that I did everything I could TODAY to live that dream in the future. It WILL be worth it!!

What do you think?

