Booklook Review: Jonah and the Great Big Fish

Maddy was so excited when I told her the package on our porch was for her this time. I helped her open the tape and as she dug through the packaging she eagerly exclaimed, “New book!” I knew we had a winner with Rhonda Gowler Greene’s new title, “Jonah and the Great Big Fish” when the Little Girl instantly plopped on her bum and flipped through the pages.

Based on the Biblical narrative found in the book of Jonah, Rhonda Gowler Greene depicts Jonah’s experience when God gave him a task to accomplish, but Jonah refused to obey. Written in prose,  this story shares a good reminder to its readers of the importance of listening to and obeying the Lord.

We enjoyed reading this book with the rhyme and expressive typography. The retelling of Jonah’s story maintained accuracy with Scripture, which is something I am always looking out for in Children’s “Bible” books. Even though the target age for this particular book (kids aged 4-8) was a little higher than Maddy’s current age, I think it’s one she enjoyed and will continue to read in the coming years. I’m not sure how I feel about the illustrations. The colors and general style is bright and engaging, but the artwork seems a little blurry.

I would recommend this book to parents who want to add to their “Bible” story collection, and particularly for preschool aged children or early readers. It would make a great gift for a little one too!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

What do you think?

