Booklook Review: Smart Money Smart Kids

Ever since Mason and I were blessed to receive copies of Total Money Makeover, I began following Dave Ramsey and Rachel Cruze on social media, surrounding myself with as many positive influences as I could when it comes to financial decision making and pursuing debt-freedom. It was a no-brainer to snag this book for review from Booklook when it popped up on the “Available” list! I was giddy with excitement, as we are making financial progress by using Dave’s Baby Steps and working on creating a debt-free legacy for our own daughter. I was confident this would be a great tool to add to our arsenal.

Dave and Rachel share with parents the basics of raising money-smart kids in a DEBT-driven world. Our very culture SCREAMS that we must have debt, but just because the loudest voices are telling us we HAVE to, doesn’t mean we have to listen to them!

Davey Ramsey is a financial expert and best-selling author who has taught countless people how to win with money and become debt-free. Rachel Cruze, his daughter, focuses on the younger generation and preparing them for financial success and strategies for how to AVOID debt as they become adults. The two together are a powerhouse of financial wisdom!

In Smart Money Smart Kids: Raising the Next Generation to Win with Money, Dave and Rachel cover all of the basics including:

  • working
  • spending
  • saving
  • giving

They even cover the tough areas like avoiding debt through all seasons of life, strategies to pay cash for college, and hands-down the most key element (in my opinion) is the portion covering waging war on discontentment. These two voices present a simple, common-sense method for changing the direction of your family legacy!

As a Christian parent, I want all the help I can get to learn how to influence my child in a God-ward direction. I knew I had the right book in my hand when I read, “The goal is to recognize who God uniquely created him to be and to teach him how to handle money, no matter what kind of personality he has.” This statement was made in regards to one’s natural inclination towards being a “spender” or “saver” and how we are designed to do BOTH in a glorifying way. Neither is WRONG, BOTH are right! This and so many other lessons fill the pages of Smart Money Smart Kids. I don’t know that I have a favorite part of this book, because it truly was well-written and full of incredible information from start to finish. A plus too, is that they included budget worksheets in the back, so the reader really does have all the tools necessary to WIN!

“…this book isn’t for normal people. It’s for people who have figured out that normal isn’t good enough. This book is for weird people–people who are willing to act differently in order to become wealthy. And wealth is so unusual and abnormal that we must say it is weird. So if your goal is to take mediocrity to the grave and raise children who perpetuate your stupidity, then this book isn’t for you.”

-Davey Ramsey, Smart Money Smart Kids pg. 131

As I read through this I wanted to send it to my friends, my college-age siblings, and every parent that I know! By far, this is a resource that I think will be on my Top-10 Recommended List for years to come! I HIGHLY recommend this book to any adult who has a direct influence on a young person’s life and finances. That means parents obviously, but also grandparents, aunt and uncles, foster parents, maybe even individuals who take an active role in mentoring and can speak into a child’s decision-making process. The information in this book is absolutely worth the cost of the book, and if put into practice, WILL dynamically change people’s entire life!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

What do you think?

