LET your light shine

Christianity often seems like a lot of work. I certainly used to think so, particularly growing up with a list of “do’s and don’ts”, how to dress, etc. However, if you truly look at *just* scripture, there isn’t any “work” involved in maintaining or keeping my Christianity! My status in relationship to God is a once for all kind of setup.

Having this in mind as I look at God’s Word can unveil truth. For instance, last Sunday we were studying in Matthew 5 and I was able to glean something fresh (even though I have certainly read, studied, even memorized this passage before).

Matthew 5:14-16

You are the light of the world.

A city set on a hill cannot be hidden.

Nor do people light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a stand, and it gives light to all in the house.

In the same way, let your light shine before others,

so that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father who is in heaven.”

What stood out to me was that last verse, ” let your light shine before others“.

I guess growing up, hearing this passage coupled with the song “This Little Light of Mine” I always felt like I had to really put effort or work to be a light in the darkness around me. Yet, when I reflected on this phrase and studied the Greek, there is no effort indicated in the original text. “Let” is actually a great word choice here because it implies that you aren’t DOing anything. It is passive in tone, implying that you are submitting to what is happening!

Here’s how I think about it…I have been redeemed. By simply allowing the new identity that I have in Christ to saturate my life, the light (Christ) that is in me will be evident and attract others to itself. Quite literally, that is the light shining through us, making our good works visible to those in our surroundings. This lifestyle is exactly what directs glory back to the Father, because we are merely being used as vessels to showcase the works that the TRUTH in our lives is producing.

Awesome, right?

Yeah, I thought so too.

So go LET your light shine!

What do you think?

