Grounded Faith

My thumbs are far from green, but just as I like to pretend I am crafty, I keep convincing myself to attempt to grow something, anything that will be beneficial for our family.

This season’s attempts include Roma Tomatoes, a bite-size sweet tomato (like grape/cherry variety), and a few flowers. I was getting anxious the last few days because we had the plants for a week and we ran out of time to get the soil necessary to get the tomatoes in the ground! EEK! A couple of our 6 plants were starting to look neglected, so I jumped to work yesterday when Mason was able to pick up the last of our gardening supplies.

container garden

Our little container garden after I put everything in soil!

I stood back in awe this morning…those plants that just yesterday were beginning to wither look as healthy as ever!

Now this is why I think I keep painting my thumb green:

I love to see God’s creation grow!

Foremost, I am passionate about seeing individuals deepen their relationship with the Lord. However, I am renewed in the truth and simplicity of spiritual growth when I see plants grow and change. The parallels are absolutely incredible: in the same way that there is organic growth that happens within a system of photosynthesis, we grow spiritually via organic ways, within a system of connection to God!

“Therefore as you have received Christ Jesus the Lord, so walk in Him, having been firmly rooted and now being built up in Him and established in your faith, just as you were instructed, and overflowing with gratitude.”

-Colossians 2:6

Are you in Christ?

Has your faith been grounded?

What do you think?

