Booklook Review: The Nesting Place

My husband just posted this status earlier in the week: People in love with perfection seldom experience satisfaction.”

As a recovering perfectionist, I could identify with his statement, but also found its timing perfect considering I just finished reading The Nesting Place: It Doesn’t Have to Be Perfect to Be Beautiful by Myquillyn Smith aka, The Nester. Recently I began following her blog, just before I had selected her book to review. We should know each other in real life because we are kindred spirits.

For real.

I ❤ her.

Before you jump to the conclusion that I am becoming a stalker, let me tell you all about her book!

Myquillyn Smith shares her own journey through thirteen plus homes, inviting the reader to peek into her past, decorating mistakes and all, to learn the secrets she has found to creating a beautiful and unique home fitting for your family and lifestyle. In The Nesting Place, the writer covers the purpose of your space, unique trials and even how to decorate on a budget or with the “restrictions” of renting: this gem is overflowing with truth, and I don’t just mean design tips.

I refer to Myquillyn as a kindred spirit because I connected deeply to the values she displays throughout her book. Do we share the exact same tastes or design style? Nope. It’s not about that though, the principle she so clearly emphasized in her writing was a firm trust in a sovereign God.

“I decided to trust that the God who is in charge of my eternal life could also be trusted with my everyday life.”

Authenticity, joy, embracing the gifts you have been given. All of this is celebrated!

“Once we realize that the goal is not having a perfect home, we can create a beautiful home out of freedom instead of fear.”

So here is my recommendation, if you are a homemaker, mother, or just someone who loves a beautiful space, you need to flip through these pages. Grab a cup of coffee, or if you are like me, some yummy tea. Lean back on your mis-matching pillows and allow “The Nester” to inspire you with her simple approach. Even if you are not interested in design or decorating, I guarantee you will walk away encouraged. Quiet yourself and quiet your space, and you just might learn to love everything you have all over again!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 

What do you think?

