Booklook Review: Clout by Jenni Catron

As I opened the package I was reminded of how understated the design appeared on my most recent book review selection. In fact, the cover almost deterred me from choosing Clout, but I have followed Jenni Catron‘s blog for years now, and felt it would be a good read. I may have even reminded myself to “never judge a book by its cover.” I am so glad that I didn’t!

Jenni Catron‘s latest release, Clout: Discover and Unleash Your God-Given Influence, is focused on helping the reader unearth their unique power and influence, or clout. Anyone who has wrestled with their passion, talents, gifting, strengths, and how that intersects with their purpose in this world would likely agree with me that it is no easy thing to pinpoint.

“Unexplored influence leaves us leading aimless or distracted lives where our deepest dreams and longings remain uncultivated.”

Jenni Catron, Clout pg. xxii

I was bought in completely and I had only reached the end of the introduction.

Aimless.

Distracted.

Uncultivated.

All of these words resonated with me and I knew that I had to dig into this book, gleaning all that I could from the wisdom buried in its pages. First, Jenni walks through the “Clout Killers” including: comparison, insecurity, and control. If you have ever been in leadership (even on the slightest level…that includes your clique’s lunch table!) you will find some piece of yourself connecting with one of the seven “Clout Killers”.

Thankfully the author does not stop there! Jenni Catron continues her writing by expounding on “Clout Cultivators”. In these four chapters, she lays out some key thoughts on identity, confidence, mission and passion. With introspective questions woven into the chapters and “Discovery Steps”, there is a lot to process if you really want to utilize this incredible tool.

Personally, this book arrived at my door at a God-ordained time. It is very evident to me that I need this book right now and that there are terribly significant choices on the horizon. I began reading right before going through a job change and within weeks I found myself grasping for control, trying to orchestrate my circumstances, and losing sight of the delicate stewardship of “being” and “doing” in my daily life. Not only will I be spending some more time to follow-through in working to cultivate my clout, but I would highly recommend this read to anyone who wants to grow personally. If you are in leadership, look here to learn and refine what you may already know, or just invest in self-development.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

What do you think?

