Book Review: Not Mere Words

Earlier this year I posted my reivew of Ryan Dalgliesh’s book, The Shadow. What a privilege to have another of Ryan’s books to read and share: Not Mere Words: Igniting a Passion for Scripture. Not Mere Words is a short work broken into five main chapters regarding the necessity of Scripture in the areas of the Christian life, the family, the practice of worship, the revelation of Christ, and preaching. An addition to the book is Ryan’s section titled “hints and tips for reading” (some great insights as well as a starter Bible reading plan). With roughly 100 pages, you could truly read Not Mere Words in its entirety in a single sitting. Ryan also writes at a level that is engaging for adolescent readers as well as the more experienced reader.

As the tagline of Ryan’s title suggests, his entire motivation for writing this work is to ignite a passion for Scripture. The chapters in Not Mere Words do exactly that. I shared with my husband as I was reading this that I felt like I was being punched in the gut and encouraged at the same time. How on earth, you might ask? Well, when your writing is Scripture-based truth, that’s the exact effect you have on your audience: exhortation towards Biblical living at its finest! I could not keep up with the Scripture references that I have come to know as a “routine” part of Ryan’s writing. What a reflection of the heart God is cultivating in him that his writing pours forth truth!

I wish that I could purchase and send a copy of this book to every believer that I know (but I have a pretty large network of believers and people in ministry). I highly recommend Not Mere Words particularly to a believer looking to whet their appetite for Scripture. Ryan certainly achieved his goal to ignite a passion for Scripture. Don’t miss this read!

Disclaimer: I received this book free from Ryan Dalgliesh and Higher Rock Ministries. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

What do you think?

