Book Review: Love’s Complete

Love’s Complete: A Russian Adoption Journey stood out to me amid the other Booksneeze selections because I sense an incredible calling for believers to respond to adoption. I am always excited to see literature about the adoptive experience!

“This lovely illustrated children’s book written in rhyme paints the journey adoptive families take in order to bring their Russian children home. Follow a couple on their journey and experience the joys and challenges they go through until their child is ultimately united with them.”

Teresa Travous Hull details their journey of adoption in rhyme, from the heartache of a couple longing for children, through the realization of adoption and the long process it can be, to the cross-cultural experience that is international adoption! I know that many families who have adopted will relate instantly with the roller coaster of emotion Teresa shares in Love’s Complete. Teresa has the work illustrated simply, but poignantly with colorful scenes set in both the United States and Russia.

I personally did not love this for myself, but would give it to a friend or recommend it as a “gift” book if you know someone who is adopting, particularly if they are adding (or have added already) to their family through Russia. While Teresa’s writing is described as being a children’s book, and the writing is certainly simple enough for juvenile literature, I did not sense that children would connect as well with the story and poem like adults would. I found it fitting for mid to upper elementary children as a conversation starter.  Overall, I felt it was a good book on the topic of adoption.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com® <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

What do you think?

