Book Review: The Beauty of Broken

Elisa Morgan’s book, The Beauty of Broken: My Story and Likely Yours Too is a telling of her personal and family experiences. I could barely put this book down once I opened to the Dedication page. Yes, you read that right. Not even the Introduction or Preface, but the Dedication. Previously I have been intrigued by a dedication, particularly if the dedication portrayed a special relationship with a family member. However, Elisa’s dedication was raw. I felt as if she had pulled me aside in a crowd and asked if we could talk. My heart shifted towards the intensity in her voice and my guard was instantly down. That’s how I knew I would love this book.

“…truth-telling this reality may end our fairy-tale expectations…admitting our brokenness may be the most freeing and beautiful release we ever experience.”

-Elisa Morgan, pg. 27 The Beauty of Broken

I do not remember the last time I finished a book this quickly. Elisa’s writing is so engaging, I found myself lost in chapter after chapter as she peeled back the complicated layers of brokenness she has faced in her life. I found myself Inspired to new depths of vulnerability as Elisa gives the gift of going second. Her boldness embracing her own family and personal brokenness grants her readers a measure of hope to live transparently. If you let it, reading Elisa’s story is freeing, healing, and challenging.

The Beauty of Broken: My Story and Likely Yours Too includes topics like teen and unwed pregnancy, alcoholism, drug addiction, infertility, adoption, divorce, homosexuality, and death. Each of these are a mere sampling of real life issues that, while none of us want them, happen in our lives, in the lives of our family and friends. As believers in Christ, we MUST learn to embrace brokenness and accept God’s love and exhibit His grace as we walk the rocky paths of life. Elisa’s writing particularly resonated with me because my heart as a Biblical Counselor is for Christian individuals to grasp this reality of how God’s love intersects our own physical, emotional, spiritual brokenness. This is where the rubber meets the road.

I would recommend that each and every mother read this book as Elisa shares from an experienced maternal perspective. She will challenge you as a mom  to raise your children in a God-honoring way, but also to release them as they individually seek after God. She openly shares what happens when one believes the lie that certain parental actions promise a perfect outcome.  Every parent is guilty of it, and we all must realize that we are raising individual seekers. Each will choose their own path, and we must be faithful as parents to guide them through the seasons during which we have stewardship. Will it be broken? Always. However, when we trust God’s heart it will produce joyful beauty!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com® <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

What do you think?

