Shop Review: DiazDiapers

A few months ago I wrote about Why I Wanted to Try Cloth Diapers. We are now nearly 6 months into using cloth diapers full-time and it has been great. We faced our fair share of kinks and troubleshooting: stink, leaks, wash cycle, etc. However, I was able to work most of that out pretty quickly.

I am thrilled that because I chose to go the cloth diapering route, I recently had the opportunity to review a fabulous Etsy shop: DiazDiapers. Let me tell you, Ruth is a delight and her diapers are QUALITY! Not only that, but her heart and mission are so engaging. But, don’t let me get ahead of myself.

About the Diaper

I was sent a One-Size Diaper to try. Basically what that means is that the diaper is designed to adjust sizes based on the size and fit needs of your child. This is great because little ones grow constantly, and that means that the diaper will fit from roughly 5-45 lb diapers (how Ruth advertises). I’m not going to give you all the nitty gritty details or specs on her diapers since you can check those out here in Ruth’s shop.

diazdiaper smsetting

Here is the diaper she sent for me to try on the smallest setting. Take a look at the bottom left of the picture-that opening would fit some pretty itty baby legs! My first thought when I saw the sizing on this diaper (at its smallest) was that some preemies or extra small babies would truly be able to use them! That’s so difficult to find!

diazdiaper lgsetting

Here is the diaper at the fullest setting-you can see there are 4 different “rises” (where the crotch can be adjusted up) and there are 5 different waist settings. I was able to get a good fit on Maddy within minutes of putting the diaper on her, observing her move around, and then adjusting.

*I recommend letting your little one move around a bit if you are experimenting with their diaper fit because that wiggling will reveal any gaps and fixing them early prevents messes later on!*

diazdiaper features

Top: pocket opening and waist elastic snap adjustments
L-R Pocket opening being stuffed, leg elastic and double gussets at leg opening

Check out the elastic work on these! I recently switched out the elastics on some second-hand diapers we have and I can tell you that’s not super easy to do-takes quality work! I also have a very wide palm and finger-span so stuffing diapers and fitting inserts into them can be difficult for me, but Ruth’s pocket style opening was plenty wide. I also have to brag on her double-gussets (that is the double row of elastic you can see there). Not only do double gussets help to ensure there is no BM escaping the diaper, but this diaper proved to have the BEST fit on the legs of my daughter. She is not chunky, nor too skinny, but some diapers just aren’t tight enough without being TOO tight. This one was perfect!

About Ruth

Ruth is the shop owner at DiazDiapers. She loves to create and has been crafting hand-made goods since she was 7 years old! She says, “I enjoy sewing items for others and myself. And now I’m using my talents to make a profit doing something that I love to do.”

Ruth’s inspiration for her diapers is threefold: “The first way is through the dream of using them for my own children one day. The second way is in the desire to be a Proverbs 31 woman. And the third way is through my love for creating and sewing items to wear.”

While Ruth doesn’t have her own children yet, they are a future hope and dream. While she and her husband have only been married a couple years, they wouldn’t mind starting a family soon and once they do, she wants “to use cloth diapers because they are environmentally friendly, economical, and fashionable.” I absolutely agree, Ruth!

I have told you before how I love businesses with a Christian or Biblical mission. Ruth is just such a business owner! “Proverbs thirty-one is a great inspiration in starting this business.” Ruth was motivated by the Proverbs 31 Woman who exemplifies an entrepreneur, buying land, planting a vineyard, working with her hands and producing a profit! I believe that just like the woman described in Scripture, Ruth’s children will rise and call her blessed; particularly when she reaches her goal of being able to invest in her future children (quitting her full-time job) and still contributing to her family’s income by doing what she loves with DiazDiapers!

Our Review

In the short time we have had this diaper we have tested it (with a regular microfiber insert ) for sleeping, wetting, and bm (thanks, Maddy for your cooperation). 😉 It passed on all counts with NO LEAKS of any kind and our little girl is pretty active so that’s saying something! While I feel like it doesn’t rise as high in the rear, the unique adjustable elastic provided the perfect fit. I’m not a huge fan of bm getting stuck between the gussets, but my girlie has pretty solid waste so that’s not a major factor to me. The print is cute and different than the other diapers we have (mostly solid colors).  As far as price goes, these are not the cheapest covers you will find from a WAHM or Etsy shop. However, Ruth’s diapers have some really great features that you’re not going to get everywhere (of my 16+ diapers NONE have double gussets) and if you use the discount code she offers below, you’ll get a DEAL!  This diaper has quickly become a favorite because it is trusted to do its job! If you haven’t figured out by now, I am all about function when it comes to our cloth diapers. Sure, there are some really cute cloth diapering options, but it’s a diaper. I just need it to do its job and DiazDiapers happens to have both function and simple fashion down perfectly!

The Discount

Ruth was gracious enough to offer a great discount code for my readers: use code “BLOGREADER5” for a limited time offer of 25% off through December 15, 2013! That is truly awesome, guys! I hope that you will take advantage of this deal and score some great diapers.

Disclaimer: I received these products free in exchange for my honest review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255<http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
4 thoughts on “Shop Review: DiazDiapers

  1. Love the waist elastic… I’ve only seen that on an AIO diaper (and the company went out of business before I got one) and on a cover/A12. We don’t have any double gussets in our stash either, but they sure would have come in handy a couple years ago when lil’ guy was going through an ostomy reversal.

What do you think?

