Home…

We have been living in our townhouse for over 3 months now.

We have been back stateside nearly 11 months.

I’m still feeling a little lost or like I can’t find my place.

It just doesn’t feel like home yet.

I try to figure out why.

I mean, sure, my “stuff” is still partially in Texas and somewhere between Korea and here, but it’s not about the stuff.

Home is where my husband and daughter are.

However, that’s not all.

Home is truly where my heart is, which is torn between continents.

…varying countries where family and friends reside.

…places marked by my experiences

I allow this reality to steep and once again face the truth that I will never be “at home” here.

I wasn’t designed to settle here.

 

“But our citizenship is in heaven, and from it we await a Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ, who will transform our lowly body to be like his glorious body, by the power that enables him even to subject all things to himself.”

-Philippians 3:20

2 thoughts on “Home…

  1. Marla, I can so relate to what you’re saying. We are moving to Florida in October and it will be the first time that I will have left my whole family ever. At age 58 I am pretty set in my ways. It will be a huge adjustment. I keep reminding myself that no matter where I am, Jesus is with me, and ultimately He is enough. However, I am realistic enough to know that there will be emotionally hard days, but then I think of missionaries who never see there grandkids and I realize that I need to better develop a grateful and thankful spirit. God has been so good to me and yes, we are not truly home until we reach Heaven. Thanks for sharing! I love your blogs. Keep at it!

    • You are right-it will certainly be an adjustment and emotional days will come. The truth you bring up is so key! And, I think we can all relate to developing a deeper level of gratefulness. Such a challenge!

What do you think?

