Finding Joy in Developments

Finding Joy in Developments

I was blessed this summer with a last minute garden project that Mason and I agreed was going to be a “starter” experiment and if anything was gleaned that was frosting on the cake experience of doing it together. Mason spent time on both of his days off last week working to clear the plot on the side of the house so that our plants could have more room, but these pepper plants are still showing development in their little containers!

I think a lot of times we forget that growth and development have to be fostered. So much happens to grow these little plants, but it’s important that we make sure they have room to grow, good soil, compost, proper amounts of sun and shade, and the right level of water in the right way. What an intricate process that takes place before our eyes, even while we sleep. It’s a constant thing and it doesn’t just happen by accident.

Neglect begets death. It may be a slow fade, but if you look it’s there. Just consider the development of a young child. One might take for granted that they receive balanced nutrition, live in a safe and loving home, etc. When these elements are absent, so is their growth.

I was mulling over all of these things as we worked in the garden last week…pulling weeds, digging out stumps, and making plans to replace those dead, detrimental things with fresh soil and infant plants. I couldn’t help but connect the ideas of growth to my experience as a Biblical counselor (walking through the discipleship process with an individual) and even just as a believer. I can look at my own growth and take note of the areas I need to invest more time and resources in. Maybe I haven’t been drinking enough, or I need to get out of my comfortable little container so that my roots can spread out. Maybe I need some TLC so that I can be coaxed to produce some fruit again.

“He is like a tree planted by water,

that sends out its roots by the stream, and does not fear when heat comes,

for its leaves remain green,

and is not anxious in the year of drought,

for it does not cease to bear fruit.”

-Jeremiah 17:8

All that to say, I’m finding great joy in the developments I see in our garden. When I saw these itty peppers I squealed, “We have peppers!” I called Maddy over to see them. I text messaged Mason about them. I took a picture to share with you. I’m sure that our Father equally exclaims in delight over the developments of our spiritual fruit!

One thought on “Finding Joy in Developments

What do you think?

