Finding Joy in Crafts

It has been quite a while since I shared a craft and since I am now getting settled and crafting again, I figured it would be a great “C” post!

I was thrilled a couple months ago when my sweet MIL took me for an afternoon of shopping. I got to check out our local JoAnn’s Fabric store and had a blast browsing all of the goodies they have! Ultimately we walked out with a wreath form and some fabric quarters. I was certain that I could make a fabric-tied wreath with those two things (fabric and wreath form) using just the scissors I had at home. Well, when I got home and jumped into Pinterest brainstorming, every tutorial I found said that I needed something else to fasten the fabric…pins, adhesive, etc.

Hmmm…I knew I could come up with a way to do it.

And, I did!

2013-07-08 04.33.46type

If you have seen my other crafting or DIY posts, you know that I stink at taking pictures of the step by step (or even the before and after). So, I tried to take a good picture of the end-product and I’ll do my best to describe the technique I developed.

What you need to make a wreath like this:

  • wreath form (you can even cut one in half and make 2 wreaths, or use a pool noodle and some duct tape to make one the exact size you want!)
  • 3 fabric quarters in coordinating colors (I chose 3 prints with browns and greens that I knew Mason would like)
  • scissors (good for cutting fabric)
  • ruler (not necessary, but if you are anal and want each strip to be the same width you will want to measure precisely)
  • fabric glue (or super glue, glue gun, etc)

Here’s your how-to:

  • Gather all your supplies
  • Open up fabric quarters (iron if you want them neat, but you really don’t have to because this is a rough-around-the-edges wreath)
  • Measure, snip, and rip. It’s really that easy! Measure the width of your fabric strips (mine were roughly 2 in wide), make a snip into the fabric, and then you can rip the length of the fabric for your wrapping strips. You should get 18 strips per fabric quarter and don’t worry about slight differences in width and length. It works out fine when you pull it all together. 🙂

wreathhowto

  • Organize your strips into piles by color/print so that you can easily grab the strips you need.
  • Begin by wrapping a strip around the wreath (printed side out), tying neatly on the “backside” of your wreath form. Note: front/back don’t really matter as long as you are consistently knotting on the same side.
  • When you tie the next strip on, overlap the previous strip so that no wreath form shows on the front, and hold the former stray ends (left after knotting) under the next knot. Did that make sense to anyone? Take a look at the picture below to see what this will look like when it’s all said and done-each knot’s ends are tucked under the next knot. Do this nice and tight and your wreath will be held together well!
2013-07-08 04.34.44

Hopefully the picture shows you well enough. If not, let me know and I’ll try to describe or show in another way.

  • I put two strips of each fabric in a repeating pattern, but you can do this however you like. You can do the whole thing in a single color or print if that’s what you want!
  • For the final hanging tie, I took a spare fabric strip and tied a knot in the end of it, then ran my final couple strips (around the wreath) through the hanging tie to secure it onto the wreath.
  • Last step is to use the fabric glue as you need. This is optional, but in my house with a grabby 1 year old and bull-in-a-china-shop husband, it was NECESSARY! I primarily put a few drops to secure the tie under those last few strips, and then dabbed it where I thought other weak spots existed. Make sure you let your glue dry completely and your wreath is ready to hang!
The completed project!

The completed project!

2 thoughts on “Finding Joy in Crafts

What do you think?

