Book Review: Changing Diapers

I have heard absolute horror stories about some people’s experience using cloth diapers, so when I started out (knowing I could stick with disposables if I really wanted to) I knew I needed to be patient with myself as I rounded the learning curve and take the time to become informed. Enter Kelly Wels book, Changing Diapers!

I was offered the chance to review the book so here’s my experience as a beginner cloth diaper user with this resource at my fingertips.

First, I love the way Kelly laid out the book because you can flip through the topical index and jump to whatever area you need. For me, this meant “stripping” diapers since I was using a loaner stash to start.

Then, I needed to figure out what diapers we were going to purchase for our own use. Kelly’s second chapter, “Snappis, Doublers, AIOs, and Pockets: Understanding Basic Cloth Diaper Talk” features over 20 green-colored pages (SUPER easy to find when looking at the book) of a “Cloth Diapering 101” section! She breaks down the differing styles of diapers, how to use them, and even shows great visuals with notes of the corresponding brands you may find selling those styles. Invaluable little section right there!

Kelly packs so much into this great resource on cloth diapers, including a simple and straightforward cost breakdown in comparison to the average price of disposable diapers. I would still suggest you do your own math based on whatever your preferred diapers are (I found that I preferred a mid-level brand as opposed to the premier name-brand diapers so that affected my diaper figure comparison).

What’s really needed to cloth diaper? Yep, she addresses that too! Most importantly, Kelly said this, “Patience: Learning cloth diapering takes time, patience, and commitment. You may have some challenges at first, but stick with it and it will become second nature in no time.” pg. 86, Changing Diapers

“Changing Diapers: The Hip Mom’s Guide to Modern Cloth Diapering” is truly an all-inclusive handbook to cloth. Everything you need to know about diapering from birth to potty training, traveling with cloth diapers, diapering multiple children, troubleshooting leaks and rashes, nighttime trouble, and VERY importantly, doing the laundry! I literally held this book open next to me while I did my first load of diapers, and when I had constant leaks whenever Maddy was up and playing, being able to find the answers I needed here kept me from throwing in the towel 2 weeks into our diapering journey.

The only draw-back I had as I read this book was that some of the quotes and phrasing included had a tone of superiority. I absolutely believe that every parent has to choose what will be best for their family and for some that means exclusively cloth diapering, for others like myself it means we use cloth the majority of the time with the occasional disposable use, and for others that means they just use disposable because that is what they need to do. I would hate for anyone to feel judgment because of their diapering choice, so I wish that tone wasn’t included.

Overall, I highly recommend this resource to anyone interested in cloth diapering because it’s absolutely an incredible comprehensive resource, it’s organized well and thoroughly covers any major issue you would encounter with cloth!

Disclaimer: I received this book free from www.KellyWels.com. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255<http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

What do you think?

