Why I Wanted to Try Cloth Diapers…

If you are connected to me via social media you may have caught on to the fact that we chose to switch to cloth diapers this spring. Some of you may be wondering why we would do that, while others who already use cloth are probably cheering us on!

Here were my top 3 reasons I wanted to try it:

1. COST-even though Maddy has been in disposables until she was 11 months old, I knew we could still devote that chunk of change towards something else each month (like paying off debt or having a nice date-night!), and if after an initial trial period (HUGE shout out to Re-Diaper for a Diaper Loan) I decided it just wasn’t going to work for us, we wouldn’t be out any more than we would have usually spent in our budget.

2. CONVENIENCE-yes, convenience! We only have one car, so running out of diapers would mean a trip to the store or consistently ordering online in bulk (cheapest option I had found so far). Cloth meant that it just required a load of laundry to have clean diapers! That seemed super easy.

3. REUSE-ABILITY-this is partially cost too, but I was confident that if cloth diapers did work well for us we could either reuse them for another future child or sell/pass them on to someone else who would use them. Side-note: I’m amazed at the re-sale value cloth diapers have!

Mason was pretty frank with me when we first started that he was going along with it because I was so excited to try it, and it was one of those things that I just thought made sense to do since I’m at home and we have a washer/dryer here for our use. It just made sense to at least try it!

So far, we are roughly 2 months in and between winning an amazing 3k fan giveawayfrom Diaper Parties, a partial stash gifted from family and slowly purchasing previously loved diapers, I have our loaner diapers boxed up and ready to return and I didn’t even have to use them the full 3 months of the initial loan period!

I have to say, I absolutely love using cloth diapers right now. We do still use disposables on Sundays for nursery or when Maddy is in someone else’s care.

If you are interested in reading a little more about my thoughts on cloth diapering so far, check back next week for my Book Review of Changing Diapers by Kelly Wels!

5 thoughts on “Why I Wanted to Try Cloth Diapers…

  1. I’ve always been intrigued by those who choose to use cloth diapers, but I’ve never quite understood the process of diaper changing while using them and how does the absorbency compare to conventional diapers? How thick is the cloth? What happens if the baby has a very runny stool? How do you go about washing such things in a hygienic manner?

  2. Pingback: Book Review: Changing Diapers | Miprip

  3. Pingback: So You Want to Cloth Diaper… | Miprip

  4. Pingback: Finding Joy in WINNING! | Miprip

What do you think?

