Book Review: The Shadow, by Ryan Dalgliesh

I was introduced to Ryan Dalgliesh and his ministry when Mason and I were living in Keller, TX during the Spring of 2010. I was so impressed by Ryan’s passion for God’s word-truly unlike any other ministry leader I have ever interacted with. I was also struck by how young he was and that he had already begun writing and publishing his work! I instantly added his books to my wishlist, but I have not been able to purchase many books for myself the last few years just because of where we have been financially. Needless to say, I JUMPED at the opportunity to get a copy of Ryan’s book “The Shadow” to read and review here on my blog.

I began reading “The Shadow” when Madeleine was just over 2 months old.

For much of those 2 months, I had been struggling to wrap my head around how to introduce her to my Lord.

I knew that it was my job, my mission as her mom, to partner with her father and raise her to be a God-follower.

Scripture commands it…

My heart desires to do it…

But I really didn’t know where to begin.

The Shadow” by Ryan Dalgliesh launched my vision as I began my daily discipleship journey with Maddy. I truly praise God for putting this resource in my path at the time!

I was so encouraged by the simplicity of Ryan’s approach (you’ll get a hint of it in his dedication). He begins with the concept of the shadow of Christ in Scripture and eloquently draws these images out for one to recognize the very person of Jesus from Genesis to Revelation. Each chapter in the book highlights a different portion of scripture (not every book of the Bible, but varied passages) through which you can see shades of Jesus person, character and presence. I nearly got lost in all of the Scripture references Ryan used throughout his writing-thankfully he has a handy Scripture Index at the end of each chapter!

My favorite portion of Scripture that Ryan features is Genesis 1. Never have I read such a captivating depiction of the beginning of earth! He weaves together the reality of Christ the Redeemer (who we typically restrict to the New Testament) as a vividly active participant in the creation of the world. You just have to read it to experience the raw truth he delivers.

Having grown up in and around ministry and then attending Bible college (where you are saturated with Scripture), “The Shadow” was a refreshing read drawing my attention to the Scripture from a new angle. I was able to read his descriptions and see truth in a bright light. Ryan’s writing truly helped me begin to think differently, more simply, about how to introduce my daughter to the Lord! I have already recommended this book to friends and family and would say that it is worth much more than the listed purchase price. I also think that it would make a great bible study read for small groups or just for personal spiritual development.

Please take a moment to check out Ryan’s site, Higher Rock Ministries and purchase his writing (here or on Amazon)!

Disclaimer: I received this book free from Ryan Dalgliesh and Higher Rock Ministries. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

One thought on “Book Review: The Shadow, by Ryan Dalgliesh

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Not Mere Words | Miprip

What do you think?

