The Mess

At church we are going through a series on our Core Values…then I read this excellent post. I struggle to lean into the mess. My experience growing up in ministry, my own personal “church trauma” and angst stirs up a deep tension in my soul that makes me want to flee in the opposite direction. But I’m called to keep a hand in the mess.

I wanted to title this post “The Church”, but I felt “The Mess” was more appropriate for the reality of what church is for us much of the time.

When we come to church, not to perform our role as “good”, “clean” Christians, but to be ourselves in community with other believers, we create a mess!

It’s a dirty, painful to clean-up, exhausting mess. But, it’s a mess worth making. We’re commanded to make it! James 5:16 says, “Therefore, confess your sins to one another, and pray for one another so that you may be healed. The effective prayer of a righteous man can accomplish much.”

I’m so grateful for our church here in VA, The Way Bible Church.

I am welcomed at the door regardless of my dress, hairstyle, what emotional baggage I’m carrying…it’s refreshing. It’s freeing.

I am called to confess.

I am called to love.

I am spurred on to much more than I am capable of naturally.

Thank you, God, for my mess Church.

What do you think?

