Have you ever?

Have you ever experienced something (seen, read, watched) that evoked an emotional, even physical response?

One time that this happened for me was in a college class. I attended a small Bible college and in one class we were required to watch a portion of “The Passion of the Christ“. The film had been out for a few years, but I still hadn’t seen it (other than snippets in trailers). I had not had much opportunity to watch it and it wasn’t exactly the kind of film you watch on movie night in the dorm. We only watched a portion of the film in that hour-long class (not even the most gruesome part of the film I was told), but by the time the clip was over I was weeping. I could barely stomach a few bites of my lunch before my next class and it took me most of the afternoon to gather my composure. I have only felt this overwhelming “can’t-get-it-together” response a few times.

I felt it coming on when I saw these posts…

From a blog that I frequently read, The Humbled HomemakerI Can’t Stand Silent on this Silent Holocaust Anymore Because it’s not Just About Kermit Gosnell

From The Gospel Coalition: 9 Things You Should Know About the Gosnell Infanticide & Murder Trial

3801 Lancaster: Watch some of the documentary and get more information.

CNN Report

I can barely read more than a few lines of what is being reported. I can’t allow my mind to project images of what is being described for fear of completely breaking down emotionally, feeling the need to vomit. I had to turn away from watching the documentary…

My heart is wrenched when I allow myself to soak in the reality of the sin in our world. Praise God for His redemption-we NEED it! Mankind is hopeless and perverse in this sin-cursed world. How dare we think that we can mess with life, the life into which God breathed a soul!

Genesis 2:7, “Then the LORD God formed man of dust from the ground, and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life; and man became a living being.”

I try to wrap my head around the complete depravity of a person to do nothing when life is taken from a being. I try to grasp the depraved mindset of one who takes the lives of newborns.

I am challenged to examine my own life-how have I watched, done nothing, when something unjust was taking place around me? How many times have I known that I was supposed to do the right thing, or a good thing, and chose not to? That’s my own sin.

“All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing.” –Edmund Burke

James 4:17, “Therefore, to one who knows the right thing to do and does not do it, to him it is sin.”

Choose life. And I’m not speaking about the life of unborn children-I’m talking about eternal life. The life that God has for each of us in Him. Not sure what I’m referring to? Just ask.

What do you think?

