Recipe: Cashew Chicken

A few years ago I was introduced to a delicious recipe for a simple stir-fry style dish: cashew chicken. I was not very much enthused to try it since I am not too fond of nuts, but I committed. I am so glad I agreed because it was quite tasty and I instantly thought of my “Chinese”-loving hubby. I knew I had to make it for him…

I think that first taste was a little under 4 years ago…I finally attempted to make it myself last week! (and then made it again a few days later!) Both times I made it recently I have had to slow myself down from plowing through my meal-it’s just that good!

Cashew Chicken

Ingredients:

1 pound Chicken (or pork) cut into bite-size pieces

(Marinade)

1 Tablespoon Soy Sauce

1 Tablespoon Red Wine

1 Tablespoon Cornstarch

1 Teaspoon Salt

(Stir-Fry)

2 Cloves Fresh Garlic

2 Teaspoons Fresh Minced Ginger

1 Korean Kochu Pepper (or use dried crushed red pepper flakes)

2 Carrots, peeled and chopped evenly

1 Large Red Bell Pepper, chopped to bite-size pieces

1 Tablespoon Oil (your choice of sesame, coconut, etc.)

1/4 Cup of Cashews (I prefer about double that amount)

Note-cut all your veggies before you start because this meal does require you to follow the steps immediately. This is also one of those that I like to have EVERYTHING on the counter before I start-just makes it so much easier. 🙂

Instructions:

1. Saute cashews in pan over low heat just until lightly toasted. Remove from pan and set aside.

2. Stir-fry carrots in a drizzle of the oil until they are crisp-tender. Remove from pan and set aside with cashews.

3. Add the rest of the oil (or more if you need), crushed garlic, minced ginger, and Korean Kochu Pepper (if using dried flakes add at the very end). Stir-fry about 10-15 seconds, just long enough to release the aroma.

4. Add chicken (or pork). Stir-fry until meat is browned.

5. Add all ingredients to the meat in the pan (red peppers, carrots, cashews, dried red pepper) and stir-fry until heated through.

Serve with rice (and seaweed if you like)!

2013-03-01 18.51.17Enjoy!

What do you think?

