Gettin’ Back In Shape Update-Weeks 3&4

I’m working through the 8 Week Program of Lindsay Brin’s Bootcamp 2 so here are my thoughts for Weeks 3&4. (Check out my first post here.)

I’m going to describe a bit more about how the 8 Week Program works-each day uses the same warm-up and cool-down. Days 1, 3, and 5 are pre-designed with a Core Workout and a Cardio & Toning segment. Days 2 & 4 are the same warm-up and cool-down again, but then you choose from 2 options of cardio-only workouts.

It felt great to hit the first plateau of my body adjusting to regular exercise again! That feeling of being able to do a portion of the exercise without stopping like you had to before, or moving up to the intermediate or advanced modifications. All of that happened for me by week 3.5-4! I couldn’t quite do everything on “intermediate” by the end of week 4, but I could do the entirety of the workout without stopping and figured that if I needed to, I would go back to week 4 if I needed.

I was a bit frustrated with a couple points on this stage of the workout:

-Upper body strength was delayed compared to the cardio level, lower body, etc. Allow me to explain-where I could get to the more advanced level of certain exercises, when it came to true upper body work like push ups or plank position based exercises, I had to use the modifications. Not sure if this is just my body and where I am (I had to do the same thing when I did Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred several years ago).

-There are a couple portions of this workout where it wasn’t clear at the start what weights were needed. That was a bit frustrating as I just wanted to have them out and ready.

-This last point was my biggest annoyance-added time! I got spoiled with my less than 30 minute workout with Jillian in the 30 Day Shred. I thought that this would be a similar setup, but apparently the 8 Week Program adds time on with the different stages. Weeks 1-2 were under 30 minutes, but then Weeks 3-4 added on a solid 5 minutes as the workout combinations became longer. Not a deal-breaker for me, but I would liked to have seen a layout of what each stage requires (time, weights, etc.).

Best part about being this far? I’m halfway through the 8 Week Program!!! And, I can feel a huge difference in my muscle strength and tone, my endurance, and even cardio ability! So far I’m a pretty big fan of Lindsay’s Moms Into Fitness material!

Check back again soon for my update on Weeks 5 & 6!

What do you think?

