Constantly Working Towards Clean…& Then Some

Have you ever been doing something, maybe cooking or cleaning up a mess, and you just kept finding more mess? Like every time you thought you got all the junk off your hands you find another spot, another clump of food, another streak? That’s how I felt last night trying to clean Maddy up after dinner. She had eaten a small chunk of banana and while she managed to keep it out of her hair this time, it was tucked in her neck, in between every finger and up to her elbows. I wiped her down in her seat, washed her hands off in the sink, and five minutes later (after playing with her) found a lovely shmear of banana mash on my wrist. Just when I thought we were clean!

'Nana Hands!

‘Nana Hands!

Isn’t that a lot like our spiritual lives? I know that I often operate in justification mode-constantly justifying why I’m right, have no responsibility in a matter, etc. However, when I pause for the slightest moment I realize that EVERYONE’s hands are dirty, even mine! My hands are only ever clean because of the washing of Jesus’s blood. Even that washing has to be revisited again and again as I live bound in my fleshly body and sinful world. God’s has designed us to be in relationship with one another and ideally (biblically) this is an absolutely glorious intertwined life! And just when I think I’m good, like I’ve gotten my hands clean, I realize there is more. So here I am again, approaching the Throne of Grace, begging my intercessor to clean my hands so that I may commune with my Heavenly Father.

http://bible.us/Ps24.3.NASB

Who may ascend into the hill of the LORD ?

And who may stand in His holy place?

He who has clean hands and a pure heart,

Who has not lifted up his soul to falsehood

And has not sworn deceitfully.

He shall receive a blessing from the LORD

And righteousness from the God of his salvation.

This is the generation of those who seek Him,

Who seek Your face- even Jacob. Selah.

My desire is to receive a blessing from the Lord…that is only achieved by keeping clean hands and a pure heart! May I be found among those who seek Him!

What do you think?

