Recipe: Zucchini Pizza Boats

I am all for quick and easy dinners these days with a new baby, the heat, etc.

Thankfully, I have a wonderfully sweet husband who is always up for trying new things that I concoct. (and I pretty much never cook the same dish the same way twice…except for Chicken Milano-that one just has to be done over and over the exact same way!)

Here is one quick and easy dinner I did this summer: Pizza Zucchini Boats.

This recipe was my inspiration, so with that in mind and a handful of leftover hamburger patties begging to be eaten in the freezer, we ended up with this!

A couple tweaks when I made this:

-did not cook the zucchini before broiling…we like a good crunchy zucchini boat.

-did salt the zucchini to remove excess water (you will still have some as you see in the picture)

-used homemade pizza sauce (2 recipes I have posted: spicy or mild)

-topped with a blend of cheeses (mozzarella, colby jack)

This is truly a versatile dinner since you an top your zucchini boats with any favorite pizza topping!

What do you think?

