Pregnancy Update-Week 35

Check out our girl’s cute foot!
How far along? 34 Weeks + a few days, EDD week of May 20th, specifically May 23rd but it seems like this girl will be here earlier the way the last month has gone.

Total weight gain: 30-ish pounds
Maternity clothes? Yep-although, for the last week I lived in comfy loose fitting t’s, sweats, yoga pants, and a maxi dress for the baby shower and was so comfortable!
Stretch marks? nothin’ that I’m noticing yet.
Sleep: so broken up these days, particularly with the switch to bed rest. I usually get a good 3-4 hours, and am then up for a bit, then go back to sleep for a few more. Just getting ready for Maddy, I think!
Best moment this week: registering NO CONTRACTIONS during my NST! (which meant I did not have to be admitted for hospital-bed rest, and could return home to continue bed rest at home!
Miss Anything? Exercise-especially with now being practically sedentary.
Movement: Yep-she loves that I’m laying down so much so she is embracing the extra bit of space that gives her to wiggle and kick me in the ribs!
Food cravings: Strawberries (the amazing ones that have been in season recently in Korea)
Anything making you queasy or sick: The medication I am now on to halt contractions had a few moments earlier in the week, but other than that not too bad.
Labor Signs: Well, I was and didn’t even know if at first. Lots of contractions, hence the meds and bed rest. 🙂
Belly Button in or out? still at half-n-half!
Wedding rings on or off? on
Happy or Moody most of the time: I think pretty happy!
Looking forward to: having this girl in my arms and being off of bed rest

Must share pregnant story: Returning from my Dr’s appointment last Friday my entourage and I were utilizing public transportation (subway, bus, etc.). Seeing as I had just been put on bed rest and there were plenty of open seats, I hopped on one of the “Reserved” seats (for the Elderly, Disabled, Pregnant, Mothers w/infants). It wasn’t long before I was reprimanded by a Korean man in English (for taking an elderly or handicapped seat…note-he left out the option for those pregnant or with small children!), then talked about in Korean. Apparently my 34 week pregnant frame wasn’t enough for these people to realize that I was justified in sitting there. Everything in me wanted to defend myself, explaining that I would never sit there without a valid reason. However, with my pregnancy brain and the impact of bed rest (and potential pre-term labor) on my mind, my English and Korean verbal skills were quite strained to say the least. I am not sure that I could formulate full sentences in either, I was so irritated. This is one of those situations where I would typically use my language skills to embarrass whoever was conversing about me by simply saying a cordial goodbye and getting off the train (or bus if it were). I had to chuckle at myself when I was departing the subway station and realized I had completely forgotten to tell him goodbye…then thanked God for keeping my pride and attitude from exploding by jumbling my languages.
What do you think?

