Masterfully Formed

As of Friday I was ordered to be on full bed rest in hopes of avoiding pre-term labor. Depending on our daughter’s arrival, this may last a matter of days, weeks, or even beyond a month if we make it to her due date of May 23rd. Mason and I knew that this was a possibility after our last appointment around the 30-31 Week mark (we began seeing pre-term contractions-more than just Braxton-Hicks), and have been planning for it over the last 3 weeks.

While I am limited physically in what I can do, my mind is full speed ahead! I am so thankful for several great books to finish reading, Scripture to meditate on, and friends who have offered to come by and visit at my couch/bed-side (not to mention time to catch up with family/friends via phone/Skype). That will certainly make my days more enjoyable!

I was looking over some birth Scripture cards a sweet friend from church gave me about a month ago and was chewing on Psalm 139:13-16,

“For You formed my inward parts;

You wove me in my mother’s womb.

I will give thanks to You,

for I am fearfully and wonderfully made;

Wonderful are Your works,

And my soul knows it very well.

My frame was not hidden from You,

When I was made in secret,

And skillfully wrought in the depths of the earth;

Your eyes have seen my unformed substance;

And in Your book were all written The days that were ordained for me,

When as yet there was not one of them.”

Blue Letter Bible. “Book of Psalms 139 – (NASB – New American Standard Bible).” Blue Letter Bible. 1996-2012. 8 Apr 2012. < http://www.blueletterbible.org/Bible.cfm?b=Psa&c=139&t=NASB >

Maddy is at a delicate point where her lungs and immune system especially need to finish developing-God is literally weaving her together as I rest. He is the Master Creator, delicately crafting His works and every bit of her is according to His design! This is true regardless of her birth date, size, weight, and development. He knows the days planned for this girl, how her life will unfold. I am reminded of the meaning of her name, Madeleine Caillat: renewed woman or person + people of hope. Our heart’s desire is that she would bring true God-centered hope through her life. So I will focus on my one true hope today-the Lord. Anything else right now is falsely rooted in faulty, earthly soil that will wither away.
One thought on “Masterfully Formed

  1. Marla you can do this! I don’t know if you know or not ;but I was on bed rest for 5 1/2 months with Karlee.I had to lay on my right side because if I was on my right it could cut her oxygen off. And the end result was a beautiful inside and out girl who loves the Lord with all her heart &soul.An knowing you and Mason your little one bring you more joy than you can imagine. This is the perfect time to “Be still” and know this he is God! Love & Prayers being sent your way =)

    Love ,Debbie S.

What do you think?

