Lemonies!

When I saw this pin for “Lemon Brownies” I knew that I had to try them! I also knew that unlike some recipes which are hard to make in Korea, this one is pretty simple since all of the ingredients are pretty common. *Score!*

I started with this basic “Lemon Brownies” recipe from “Rita’s Recipes” and made some simple adjustments to “up” the Lemony-sour factor that I was looking for. (Maddy likes sweet lemon-flavored treats and does a happy dance when I eat them!) Here is my version of Lemonies:

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 Cup Flour
  • 3/4 Cup Sugar
  • 1/4 Teaspoon Salt
  • 1 Stick Butter, softened
  • 2 eggs
  • juice from 1 Lemon (divided in half)
  • Zest from 1 Lemon (divided in half)
  • 1/2 Cup Powdered Sugar

How to:

  1. Preheat oven to 350*F
  2. Combine dry ingredients (flour, sugar, salt) in a medium mixing bowl.
  3. Mix in the softened butter (I used a rubber spatula to do this-blended right in so easily).
  4. In a separate bowl whisk together eggs with half of the lemon zest and half of the lemon juice.
  5. Blend egg + lemon mixture into your mixing bowl, blending gently but thoroughly to spread the lemon flavor throughout.
  6. Pour into greased 8×8 baking pan.
  7. Bake at 350*F for 25 minutes.
  8. Mix Powdered Sugar and remaining half of lemon juice/zest to make glaze.
  9. Remove pan from the oven and cool.
  10. Once fully cooled, spread glaze evenly over the Lemonies.
  11. Cut and enjoy!
This made 9 perfect squares which Mason and I promptly devoured.

My adjustments did make these more dense because of the extra lemon juice, but the sour punch to the mouth was absolutely worth the density. Just know that you will have some goodness to scrape from the bottom of the pan when you get them out-never a problem, right?

While these were great fresh, they were AWESOME from the fridge. I would have tried a few from the freezer but the pan I made didn’t make it that far. 😉 Guess I will have to make another batch and try that way, huh?

What do you think?

