Biscuits Sans Shortening Part 2

Like I said before, shortening is scarce to biscuits in Korea can be quite the delicacy. However, in my life time is also a prized commodity so whenever I can prepare shortcuts for upcoming busy times, I am ALL about it! I came across the concept of a homemade “Bisquick” mix a few months ago and decided to give it a try for several recipes that called for biscuit mix or canned biscuits. It worked great and I have already gone through several batches of it.

Homemade Biscuit Mix

6 Cups flour

3 Tablespoons Baking Powder

1 Tablespoon Salt

1/2 Cup Butter (cold)

  1. Sift dry ingredients together into a mixing bowl
  2. Using a pastry cutter (btw, one of my all-time favorite kitchen utensils…so glad I picked one out!) cut in cold butter
  3. Store in the fridge for up to 4 months!
I have used this mix in so many recipes the last few months…pancakes, biscuits, chicken & dumplings, breakfast sausage balls, etc. It’s just so handy to have around!

Here are a few tips I do that you may find useful…

Keep in a good sealed plastic container convenient to fit in your fridge. Mine holds the right amount of a full batch mix with just enough room when full to scoop a cup measure through.

Also, label your container with at least the date you made the mix (or an expiration date) so that you can tell when it needs to be used up.

I had every intention of showing you pics of mix and container with its cute masking tape + sharpie label, but our camera has not been working properly, nor can I find it amidst the late winter/early spring cleaning we have done topped with baby stuff. Can’t wait until I have saved up enough cash for “my camera”!

2 thoughts on “Biscuits Sans Shortening Part 2

What do you think?

