Book Review: Stained Glass Hearts

Patsy Clairmont‘s incredible charm and wit brighten the dark places of the heart as she equates each of us to stained glass artwork-once shattered and seemingly useless; our Redeemer has lovingly remade us to let His light shine through. Patsy does this by sharing the varying areas of life through which one can experience the glory of living as a piece of stained glass: through the arts, Scripture, prayer, relationships, and many forms of writing.

I was interested in this book because I had enjoyed hearing Patsy Clairmont speak at a Women of Faith conference a few years ago and I would love to be able to have a milkshake with her one afternoon, just getting to know her better. Well, it hasn’t happened in person yet, but reading “Stained Glass Hearts: Seeing Life from a Broken Perspective” left me feeling as if I had experienced just that! My husband can attest that I continually interrupted his own work or reading with my outbursts of laughter, insisting that I get to read him whatever hilarious notions Patsy had just shared with me!

At the end of the chapters Clairmont shared specific examples of Scripture, paintings, videos, etc. for one to further experience what she had been explaining. At first I was starting to be disappointed in the depth of some of the thoughts as she portrayed and promised to wade in deep. However, there were also such moments of depth that were glimpses allowing the reader to go as deep as they wanted by really soaking in the concept. I would particularly recommend this book to those looking for some inspiration or those healing from having gone through a difficult period or experience. Patsy will surely come alongside you, make you laugh (and maybe even cry) and encourage you towards the Light of our Redeemer at the end of the tunnel you are in.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

What do you think?

