Pizza Sauce Recipe

When we lived in Keller, TX Mason and I had a favorite pizza place: Jet’s Pizza. It’s a Michigan chain that a couple guys are making waves with in North Texas. There’s just something about their square pizza that is priceless. Because of that, I rarely made homemade pizza. However, in Korea good pizza is a lot harder to come by. With our pantry-budget challenge (on-going this month) I determined that I would make it homemade. It went pretty well, and my dough recipe whipped up enough for a pie and some cheesy garlic breadsticks-yumm!

If you know me, you know that I hardly EVER make a recipe without tweaking it. This is partly due to what is available on the Korean market, and partly due to our family taste preferences. This time it was the sauce that I tweaked.

What I used to make it…

1 Tbsp/dollop Tomato Paste (I buy the GINORMO can and plop them to freeze and then pull out individually as I need them)

1/2 can of diced Tomatoes (other half was used to make freezer burritos and burrito bowls for lunches)

1.5 to nearly 2 cups of chopped Tomatoes  (another random thing I had stashed away in the fridge)

1 generous teaspoons of dried Basil (fresh is pretty hard to get here unless you keep a plant)

2 tsp Olive Oil

1/2 teaspoon Salt

3 generous pinches of crushed red pepper flakes (Adjust more or less depending on how spicy you want your pie)

How I made it…

I literally threw it all in the blender (even the frozen chunks) and pulsed until it was mixed well. This made enough for 1 pizza as well as plenty extra for dipping sauce and maybe even some french bread pizzas to come… 🙂

One thought on “Pizza Sauce Recipe

  1. Pingback: LOVE Month Fun with Your Littles featuring Heart Pizza Pockets | Marla Stanley

What do you think?

