My High Priest

I was reading this morning in Hebrews 2, and while I struggled to keep my mind focused on God’s Word (there are just some days that my mind likes to wander to the sticky note, the stuff that needs to be cleaned up, the laundry I still haven’t done, the dog trying to get in my lap, the muscle that needs to be stretched) the Holy Spirit yanked my thoughts in focus on the last few verses.

“Therefore, He had to be made like His brethren in all things,

so that He might become a merciful and faithful high priest in things pertaining to God,

to make propitiation for the sins of the people.

For since He Himself was tempted in that which He has suffered,

He is able to come to the aid of those who are tempted.”

Hebrews 2:17-18

Wow, what an incredible statement.

My God, my perfect Holy God, found it of utmost importance to become like me so that he could be merciful & faithful! And all of that so he could make a way for me (and all believers) to reach back to Him! He comes to my aid daily as I face temptation (He has already faced it).

What thoughts or feelings are provoked when you think on that?

What do you think?

