Warning Signs

Jenni Catron from Cross Point Church in Nashville, TN recently blogged about “Warning Signs” she has realized about herself. Her post prompted some self-reflection and time spent thinking about my own “warning signs”. I have many warning signs in my life.

When I am hungry…beware.

All functions cease to operate properly. No joke.

I can’t think.

I can’t communicate properly.

I am incredibly irritable and go directly into survival mode. Thanks to my friends John & Ferial, I have a new term for this… “hangry” (Thank you, friends!) 

That was a pretty easy one for me.

Now onto some of the harder ones…

If I am avoiding interaction with people, even just a basic “hi, how are you?” I have not had enough processing time. I need to be alone for a while.

When I am unable to keep focused even to complete a sentence in conversation, in blogging, or writing an email, I am too busy. There is so much going on that my brain is over-stimulated and just cannot keep up to produce communication.

We all have to keep a balance in life, and personally that means that I do tell people “no”.

Whether it’s “no, I can’t do that at all.”

Or “No, I can’t do that today—let’s schedule for another day.”

I have learned my limits in several areas and do my best to keep myself functioning at a sustainable rate in life. Yes, there are times when I can push through a long few days that are taxing on me physically, emotionally, or relationally, but when it comes down to it I have to quickly even back out or I end up frustrated with so many things that I actually enjoy in life!

What are your warning signs?

4 thoughts on “Warning Signs

    • Oh yeah, “hangry” has been around since birth; now I have a great term for it!

      Thanks for challenging me to think about it…realizing them is my first step to addressing them. That’s the vital point for anyone in ministry.

What do you think?

